U49525

As a passionate traveler I have never had any issue going anywhere by plane. It never occurred to me that something would happen. After all, it is, statistically speaking, still the safest way to get from one place to another. Of course, I had heard of the tragic plane crashes (malaysian airlines, the plane that got shot out of the sky in Ukraine). I feel bad that all of these incidents have shocked, but never affected me in any way. As a German, Lufthansa (Germanwings belongs to Lufthansa) always meant perfect technological safety. The perfect reputation. Perfect control. The cause for the plane crash, as I learned today, was a copilot who willingly let the plane crash. I am not here to accuse him, or curse him. It just has devastated me to hear, that the victims were killed by nothing we can control, fix or eliminate in the future. I cannot support people who are filled with hatred towards the possible predator. I can only support the feeling of helplessness. We cannot explain every human being. Even though we try to measure blood pressure, brain waves… We will never be able to completely understand what’s actually going on.

Actually, I cannot shake the feeling that our world has become a darker place. In my guts I am a little scared even. Not a very rational thought, considering the history the world has had. However, I feel like it gets harder and harder to hold onto things, because they can change in an instant. Life or death.

Tragedies like this one just make my unbearably sad. All my compassion goes to the victim’s loved ones. My tears cannot possibly share your pain. However, I won’t be scared to get on the plane. Don’t be filled by hatred towards the airline, the copilot or anyone else. Hatred won’t honor the victims. Don’t be scared of flying. Humans are humans. And humans do things, we cannot follow or understand. Hoping this tragedy will never be rewritten.

Leave a comment